There is nothing quite like a rainy day to get me in the kitchen, I don't think I comfort eat as much as I boredom cook!  So today I made a rather exciting Chocolate Marble Cake. Delicious!  I'm honestly looking forward to eating this a little later with a cup of tea, and 'O' wants it for pudding.

Makes 1 loaf tin, and rises very well.  This can easily be frozen.

100g dark chocolate, broken into small pieces
120ml milk (I used whole)
110g butter or margarine (actually I used olive spread)
140g caster sugar
1tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
225g self-raising flour
1tsp baking powder
55g crème fraiche

  • Preheat the oven to 150'c (I have a fan, so you may have to heat it a bit more if you don't), and line the loaf tin with greaseproof paper or Teflon.  My tip is to scrunch the greaseproof paper into a tiny ball, wet it and wring it out, it is now fully mould-able to fit your tin.
  • Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla extract together until pale and fluffy, beat in the eggs one at a time
  • Add the self-raising flour and baking powder, crème fraiche and 60mls milk, beat well.
  • Put half of the cake mixture into a separate bowl.
  • Melt the chocolate with the remaining 60mls milk, I did this in the microwave.  I heated for 30s on full, stirred, then another 20s.
  • Add the chocolate mixture to one half of the cake mixture, mix well.
  • Using one spoon for each bowl of cake mixture, blob alternating cake mixtures into the loaf tin, to create the marbled cake.
  • Cook for about an hour, or until a knife inserted through the middle comes out clean.  I had to put tin-foil on the top of my cake after 40mins to prevent it from burning on top.
  • Remove from the oven, leave to cool in the tin for about 10mins, then lift out of the tin using the greaseproof paper.  I found the paper peeled off easily, so the cake could finish cooling on the wire rack.



Leave a Reply.