There is something so scrummy and easy about a crumble, but given I've made one just recently I thought I'd try my hand at pastry making and a pie.  I know it's a bit autumnal, but it won't be long before blackberries are in full glory again and we see the last of the summer.  Mmmm, I might even give my own custard a go to serve (or not, I've had too many failed attempts to mention!).  Mum brought round some amazingly huge early blackberries from their garden and not many people don't love a blackberry and apple combo, so here it is: Blackberry and Apple Pie, straight from the oven, my house smells amazing!
As you know, I made my pastry in advance, and I only used half the quantity to make the pie, the other half is in my freezer for another impromptu pudding when we have visitors.  I'd say the pie I made would serve 4-6 adults depending on the size of the belly in question!

Pastry
500g plain flour
60g icing sugar
250g cold butter, cut into small cubes (I actually bought some in for this!)
zest of 1 orange
2 eggs, beaten
splash of milk

  • Put the flour, icing sugar and butter into a bowl, using fingertips, rub until it resembles a fine crumb, try to be quick so the mixture stays cool.
  • Add the orange zest.
  • Make a well in the centre of the mix, add the eggs and splash of milk.
  • Using your hands, work the mixture together until you form a dough, be quick and don't work the pastry too much or the pastry will be less crumbly and more chewy.
  • Make the dough into a rough ball shape, flour, then wrap in cling film and pop it in the fridge to rest for at least 30mins.
  • For making the pie, as below, split the dough into two even sized balls, put one in the freezer, floured and wrapped in cling film.

The Pie
25g butter
50g caster sugar (although the end result is really rather sweet, I'd probably want to use 30g next time I make it)
1 large bramley apple
1 gala apple (I had one in that wasn't about to be eaten any time soon)
large handful of blackberries
1 egg, beaten
1tsp ground cinnamon
1tbs demerara sugar

  • Remove the pastry from the fridge.
  • Peel, quarter and core the apples, chop each quarter into bite-size pieces.
  • Put the apple, butter and sugar into a small saucepan with the lid on.  Slowly cook for 5-10 minutes until the apples are soft, add the blackberries and leave to cool.
  • Butter your pie dish, (approx 10" diameter, shallow dish)
  • Roll out half your pastry to cover the pie dish (approx 5mm thick), lay the pastry over the dish and push gently to fit.  Trim the excess pastry off the edge of the dish.
  • When the fruit is cooled, strain through a sieve, reserving the juice.
  • Put the cooled fruit into the pie base adding back half of the reserved juice.
  • Brush the edges of the pastry with the beaten egg.
  • Roll out the remaining half of pastry to cover the pie, lay over gently, trim excess pastry and press together the edges of the pie with fingers or a fork.
  • Brush the top of the pie with the remaining beaten egg and sprinkle over the ground cinnamon and demerara sugar.
  • Cut a few slits into the top of the pie.
  • Put the pie in the oven, 170'c, for about 40minsm until the top is golden brown and crisp.

Tah Dah!  Beautiful Blackberry and Apple Pie, fabulously smelling house and rather full bellies!

Update:  We had this for pudding earlier, served with a spoonful of yoghurt, and it was immense.  Pastry was perfect, the middle wasn't too sweet, as I suspected it might be, so I'm really rather impressed.  Looking forward to demolishing the rest of this one with a cup of tea tomorrow and making a few more as autumn starts to draw in and the air turns chillier.




Leave a Reply.